Billy Goat Hill and Todd River Walk

2nd and 3rd of February  2013.

Image
Billy Goat Hill

Image

                                                View of the Billy Goat Hill

    Another miserable night sleep… I can not remember to sleep in a more uncomfortable bed than this one in my room in Alice. I do like hard surfaces, but this one mixed with the comfort and spaciousness of a plank of wood… Beside to be up several time during the night, but it is a salvation to get out of it despite to be sleepy and tired… Ibuprofen is the answer…

Image

                                                 B & W impressions

    I am having this weekend off too. I am starting in my anaesthetic nurse role on Monday, finally!     
    I had to go try to colour my day with something interesting, and most importantly make photos to show my surroundings here in Alice…

ImageImage

                                                          Colors

Next door to the hospital, is the Royal Flying Doctor Service’s (RFDS) Museum, in it’s original building. According to older Locals, their Cafeteria serves nice coffee with fine biscuits.

Image

Image

                                    Royal Flying Doctor Services Museum
    

Image

                                              The Old Gaol behind RFDS

Image

        The Railway Crossing – Where the Ghan and Stewart Highway meets

Image

                                                 Industrial part of Alice

Image

                                                  Olive Pink Reserve

I am going slightly mad…
We’ve been told during orientation that if we extending our contracts, we need to move out of the nurses quarter. Not because we will be expelled, but for mental sanity. I am only here for little more than a week, but I feel that “you are in a mass of people but separated with the walls of your room”, totally isolated, not seeing who passes your door, no one to talk to… I have to go out, to the town, to walk or even grocery shopping to meet people. They called it “cabin fever”, I am calling it “trench panic”. Something will happen, inevitably but when, what is beyond your control. I just can not wait to start to work!

Image

                                                       River of sand

Had an early walk today too. I’ve calculated it around 6-8km, trying to conquer the East end of the town, that hill which is called the Olive Pink Flora Reserve. It’s a hill. Fenced around… Crossing the Todd River twice, discovered the sign that inform us River of Sand… So obvious.

ImageImage

The public safety in Alice Springs aren’t that spectacular. After dark it is advisable to walk in groups, preferably larger than two… Many of the fences and gates in town looks more like prison yard than apart mans front. Many of them has proper barbing on the top…

Image

Many of the local Indigenous People gathering in the public parks living their social life there. Many of them even staying there during the night. Look strange for the city dwellers like me, but considering this their land, I only can accept it.

Image

I soon will need some sort of transport solution: a bike, a scooter or a wheelchair…
The distances are very limiting in discoveries. Also because longer distances need more water to be carried, this is also becoming as a limitation.

ImageImageImage

                                                              My place of work

Image

                                             Street view without Google

ImageImage

                               The “servants” of our “intellectual needs”

Image

                                       Real public phones in local style

Image

                                                          Gum trees

Image

                            And my favorite – but I hope it is not a prophecy!

Leave a Reply

